All and Nothing by Raksha Bharadia

I am not a fan of first books. In fact there are times I get scared reading firsts as I have had no reading experience with the particular author earlier. Call it a judgmental issue or a perceptive one, however that is how my reading gene works and we all have that reading gene somewhere, which works differently for different people.

So I was quite surprised when my gene acted out of the ordinary and read a first and actually enjoyed it. Well there you go! I managed to break into my gene just a little bit. And now to the review.

Human nature has always been the centre point of most novels and this one with that regard is no different. I think understanding human nature and its existence is one of the major quests for any novelist. It exists in almost all books written and read. All and nothing also sets out to do that at some level.

All and Nothing is about life – the travails, the small joys and the disappointments we sometimes face as we go along the way. It is about five individuals (seems familiar, doesn’t it?) who are somehow connected – but obviously, these guys are friends. Everyone is on the edge of their lives – either broken or on their way to being broken – issues ranging from domestic violence to discontentment to a marriage souring – the link that binds them.

Tina (one of the individuals) then summons them one fine day to share their stories from the beginning – from when it all started and that is where the story begins.

The plot is not very unique, however the way it has been told is. The characters at some point in the book grate to you, and there are times they are endearing and that is primarily because of the writing.  I did not love the book, nor did I dislike it. I liked it. There is no sense of closure towards the end which I personally liked. Some of it is left open for the reader to decipher and that is the beauty of the book. The layers are taut and do not give way easily. Would I recommend this book? Yes I would, however do not expect to read something extraordinary. Read it with an open mind and see what you discover. That is what reading should be, right?

All and Nothing; Bharadia, Raksha, Rupa and Co; Rs. 95

Leave a comment