365 Stories: Day 9: If I Forget You by Truman Capote

the-early-stories-of-truman-capote

I remember the first time I read Capote. It was Breakfast at Tiffany’s and I was astounded by his writing. Since then, I have read every single piece, short story, novella or novel by him and he definitely is one of my favourite writers.

The story read on the 9th of January 2017 was “If I Forget You” – one of his early short stories that never got published earlier. This story is about a teenage girl called Grace and how the going away of the love of her life affects her. It is beautifully told, capturing all the emotion of teenage and heartbreak but above all, the incomparable wit and eye for detail of Capote’s writing will take your breath away.

Leave a Reply

