The Gaysi Zine: Issue 3

The Gaysi Zine Issue 3 It was an evening of fun. It was an evening of telling stories, of listening to stories and it was about the Gaysi Zine and the launch of their 3rd edition in Mumbai. I think more than anything else it was about solidarity, of the community being represented by its voices and their stories to tell. I never thought I would be a part of the zine and write for it, but when Priya asked me to, I was more than eager to and so somewhere in the zine is my piece as well. Now to talk about the zine.

This zine is perhaps like none other than you would have seen or read. The Gaysi Zine – 3rd Edition is fantastic. It has stories, it has visuals, it has a world that is marginalized and voices that will be heard, no matter what. I remember holding the Zine for the first time in my hand and being all ecstatic, well perhaps because I wrote for it, but also because it seemed monumental to me and not because I am Gay, but because it breaks boundaries and barriers in so many ways.

The pieces are all in black and white, in fact the entire edition is in black and white and that is what makes it even more special. Emotions are always black and white I guess, maybe that’s why the context. The Gaysi designer and the person who sketched this entire edition by hand gets more than a kudos from me – a big giant hug for when we meet.

Now to the content: my favourite pieces in the Zine are: 1000 Days to Love, Letters in Monsoon, Rosabel and States of Arousal. These connected to me like no other pieces. Let me also tell you something: Emotions thankfully have no gender and neither do voices. They aren’t queer or straight or transgendered. They are there. Waiting to be acknowledged and to be loved. The Gaysi Zine Issue 3 is something else. It is a labor of love. It is voices merged. It is a Zine which you should not miss. A universal language of love, according to me.

You can buy the Zine here: https://www.instamojo.com/GaysiFamily/the-gaysi-zine-edition-3/

2 thoughts on “The Gaysi Zine: Issue 3

  1. Pingback: The Gaysi Zine Release In Mumbai - Gaysi

  2. Pingback: The Gaysi Zine Release In New Delhi - Gaysi

Leave a Reply

