387 Short Stories: Day 28: Story 28: The Walk with Elizanne by John Updike

My Father's Tears and Other Stories by John Updike Title: The Walk with Elizanne
Author: John Updike
Taken from the Collection: My Father’s Tears and Other Stories

Since my Internet connection was acting weird last night, I could not post this, however this was yesterday’s story. “The Walk with Elizanne” by John Updike is, according to me, his most simple story and at the same time, the most brilliant of his short stories. I could be biased, but I love this story. This was probably the third time I was reading it and yet, fell in love with it, the same way as I had read it the first time.

The story follows Elizanne and David, as they move through the town they grew up in and relive their first kiss. It is a reunion of sorts and Updike manages to encompass a world in this. He speaks of hard truths of life and how people change and yet he manages to keep their innocence intact, as they go along, wondering the people they were and the people they have become – and how was their first kiss and now in all probability their last.

“The Walk with Elizanne” is a beautiful story, which I would urge everyone to read.

http://www.newyorker.com/archive/2003/07/07/030707fi_fiction

One thought on “387 Short Stories: Day 28: Story 28: The Walk with Elizanne by John Updike

Leave a Reply

