The Book and the E-Reader

The battle of the physical books and the e-books has officially begun. Everyone has a viewpoint and rightly so. At least the people who read and treat reading as something beyond this realm.

I was one of those who used to think that I will not be a sellout. I will not purchase the Kindle, but I ended up doing that and to a large extent I enjoy reading books on it. I think it has got to do more with the fact that I can finish reading quicker on a Kindle than I would have in the physical format. That is a fact and somehow I find it being true for most people who own an E-Reader.

Physical books on the other hand, never lose their charm and never will. Sometimes I am scared that they just might stop publishing the book in the physical format. But I am sure that will not happen or hope that it will not.

E-books do not give the experience of reading a book. Books sometimes become too heavy to be carried around. E-books also on the other hand cost less. However, they do not smell like books and a handmade bookmark cannot be used to mark the page.

My mother cannot get used to the idea of reading on a Kindle, but she loves the fact that the font can be increased, so reading becomes convenient. At the same time, it is only Kindle Fire and a couple of other e-readers that provide the option of a backlight. I cannot read my Kindle in an auto rickshaw at night-time.

Books on the other hand, have their own charm and that cannot be lost. The smell of the pages, the picking of a book from a bookshelf and a stack of unread books by the bedside table cannot be replaced by an E-reader for sure.
So there are times, when I am reading the book in its physical form and the same book is being read on the reader. I do not know why I do that, but I do and that somehow fastens the reading process. Strange, but works for me all the time.

And then again, the magic of a book cannot be replaced. Thankfully in this area, no one has to keep up with the times if they do not want to. Though technology is ever-changing and I am sure there will be dozens of E-readers to choose from, but for those who cannot bear to be separated from their books, there will always be books in their physical form. The ones you can touch, feel, smell, get scared that the spine will break, lend and hound your friends till they return them, misplace and buy another edition, search for it in bookshops and libraries and sink in to your favourite spot and devour it for hours.

4 thoughts on “The Book and the E-Reader

  1. Yatin Gupta

    I have an iPad. And I do exactly the same as you do. But the difference is, I try and find the PDF of books or ePub files instead of buying them when it comes to e-books. Love spending money on physical books and I am doing that 🙂

    Reply
  2. Rabab Maher (^_^) رباب ماهر

    Although I love technology, the eBook – in my humble opinion – can’t replace the feel of a paperback or hardback book – I’m a purist in this regards (~_^).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

