Quiz: Some of the Whole by Abhijit Bhattacharya: Win 5 copies!

Hi All,

Here’s an opportunity to win an autographed copy of Abhijit Bhattacharya’s, “Some of The Whole” – a collection of interlinked stories. I have 5 copies to giveaway.

You just have to answer one question and leave it as a comment on the blog, “What does the title, “Some of the Whole” mean to you”?

I am very excited to host this contest through my blog. The closing date oft his contest is the 7th of February 2012.

You can follow the author on twitter on: OB_noxious

You can read my review of the book here

10 thoughts on “Quiz: Some of the Whole by Abhijit Bhattacharya: Win 5 copies!

  1. Dipti

    Some of the whole…I really liked the title of this book. I’m sure the author might have thought about the title for long and came up with this one. According to me ‘some of the whole’ as the title suggests is part of some whole thing. For example there’s n entire universe and you want to describe certain events then it is some of the whole event. There is a crowd of let’s say 50 people and that crowd is whole but you choose some interesting, intriguing characters and decide to write them. Its not possible to write the whole and the whole is always boring. Whole divided into some interesting things is what makes it interesting. I’m sure this some for sure would be interesting. I would love to read ‘some’ even if I don’t win it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  2. Hitesh

    Some of the whole is a very unusual title for a book if you ask me. I mean, never heard of it before, ever. But, somehow its catchy and I like it, especially after reading your review/take on it.
    Some of the Whole to me means the sum of the everything in its entirety but still while summing up it includes some of those. This might seem to appear complicated so let me put it this way. While doing math, we were taught of sampling techniques. There a population size (WHOLE) and one has to evaluate the entire population and draw conclusions thereon, but since the size of population is huge & one has time constraints, one draws a Sample(Some) from the population and evaluates it.
    So, Some of the Whole means taking something from everything and then presenting it in such a way that we get a flavour of everything ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. Samarpita Mukherjee

    “Some of the whole” is something, which I can clearly understand in my head, but never put in words properly … its one of those types of phrases. Technically, it means a portion of the entire but one can always keep guessing, which portion? ๐Ÿ™‚ From the title of the book, I suppose, the author has picked up some of his life’s experiences/inspirations out of all his experiences and written on them. I am intrigued! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  4. Tridib Ghosh

    There happens to be only SOME people whom we remember among a whole lot of others in our life. Like that SOME OF THE WHOLE are the stories or incidents that we remember very distinctly among others. These incidents sometimes changes the whole flow of our life…

    Reply
  5. nethra14

    When I heard the phrase “some of the whole”, the first thing that came to my mind was “my bit, to make a difference”. We always do things wrongly and support wrong things, saying that one person cannot change anything but we forget that it is thousand of one rupees that makes a thousand.

    Reply
  6. Swarnali

    The title first of all is very mysterious and sends you thinking what made the author think of it. To me the name suggests something fragmentary, bits and pieces all scattered beyond ordinary comprehension,which when carefully assembled and rearranged fit into a proper whole puzzle and give a greater meaning,maybe a higher philosophical truth about humanity or a much lesser known truth or fact about us,mortals. Its like this chemical reaction where reactants A and B combine to form C which is characteristically different from both the components,yet new and full in itself.

    Reply
  7. Waylon Gomes

    In your life rather whole life, there were many phases, activities, true stories, funny days, etc…… You’ve picked few of those instances in life and put it on paper/book title…

    Reply
  8. Priyanka

    The phrase โ€œsome of the wholeโ€, triggers a whole lot Moments in my mind, when I felt that I had all that I wanted and yet, there was an incompleteness, such that it made my life seem more empty than full!
    So some of the whole is for me, an expression for Living. When you know the idea of the whole is to complete a cycle starting from birth to death, and yet, as we travel through the journey, step by step, we get to experience understand and relish, “some of the whole”..
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

