Authors I Love: #2 Charles Dickens

Yes I admit there was a point that I hated reading Dickens. I loathed him as I would only be gifted his books as a child (little did adults know back in the day) and I was not the one to read about orphans and their miserable lives. Trust me, I had my own problems growing up. Till I read “Great Expectations” and from there on Dickens became an author who I loved and still do. From Ms. Havisham’s loneliness to Estella’s cold cold gaze to Pip’s helplessness and the need to rise in the world is what marvelled me in the book. I think this is Dickens best work ever, though I am also a sucker for “A Christmas Carol” and “David Copperfield”. But having said it all, Dickens does rule in some eerie sort of way – in the back alleys of London and in the hearts of scoundrels.

Here are few of my favourite quotes from Great Expectations:

So,’ said Estella, ‘I must be taken as I have been made. The success is not mine, the failure is not mine, but the two together make me

Also, when we played at cards Miss Havisham would look on, with a miserly relish of Estella’s moods, whatever they were. And sometimes, when her moods were so many and so contradictory of one another that I was puzzled what to say or do, Miss Havisham would embrace her with lavish fondness, murmuring something in her ear that sounded like, “Break their hearts my pride and hope, break their hearts and have no mercy!”

Heaven knows we need never be ashamed of our tears, for they are rain upon the blinding dust of earth, overlying our hard hearts.

I’ll tell you what real love is. It is blind devotion, unquesitoning self humiliation, utter submission, trust and belief against yourself and against the whole world, giving up your whole heart and soul to the smiter–as I did
Need I say more about this book and its author. I always wondered if most of Dickens’ works was based on the way he lived his life. Probably so. I cannot wait to read his biography by Peter Ackroyd though.
Leave a Reply

